Thursday, December 4, 2014

Destiny Defied: Book One in The Destiny Series By J.A. Marx

 I received this book from Litfuse Publicity for no charge in exchange for my honest review of this book. The opinions expressed here are my own.

Book Description: 

Trapped on a mysterious island, eighteen-year-old Riki finds refuge with four strangers. Isaac, the rugged EMT, insists no one else is around, but Riki cannot ignore her fear that someone is stalking her. Unless she finds a power truly great enough to overthrow Darkness, Riki will choose death over returning to captivity.

Lord Vétis, high priest of a cultic underground, will stop at nothing to reclaim the chosen one, but he must do so before her introduction to the real world ruins her royal destiny. Using black magic, he manipulates Riki and her self-assigned bodyguards, triggering a battle that consumes the entire island. The underground will never allow Riki to live out her dreams of a normal life...something she has never known.

My Thoughts:  

Destiny Defied is J.A. Marx's first book in her new Destiny Series. I have not read anything by J.A.Marx before but when I read the description I was intrigued. Rikki is 18 years old and is stranded on an island with four strangers who are caring for her after they found her almost dead on the beach. These four friends are caring for Rikki and under the impression they are the only ones on the island but Rikki feels someone watching her every move. Rikki has never lived in the "real" world, only the world she was born into. Lord Vetis, a high priest of The Underground cult, is on the island watching Rikki and her companions. He is waiting for the right moment to to reclaim the chosen one, Rikki. While Rikki is learning about the real world, Lord Vetis is trying to counter this learning, afraid it will ruin her destiny and the cults agenda. 

Destiny Defied is a Christian Supernatural thriller that definitely keeps you on the edge of your seat. I have not read anything from J.A. Marx so this book was my first experience and I am very glad I did.  Destiny Defied is described as Frank Peretti meets a modern day Treasure Island, and that is a very accurate description.  As a fan of Frank Peretti and other supernatural books this book really caught my attention.  I found myself unable to put this book down for very long and J.A. Marx definitely kept me guessing until the end. As I read this book I really feel like it is appropriate for Teens and adults. I enjoyed the interactions of the four friends and their struggle to help Rikki, especially as they shared their faith with her and explained about God to her. All of the characters in this book fit together perfectly to make this a very interesting story. J.A. Marx has released the other two books in this series at the same time so I look forward to reading the other two books and glad I don't have to wait for them to be released! I recommend this book to anyone who enjoys supernatural fiction, especially books by Frank Peretti, you will enjoy this one. I give this book 4 STARS.

Welcome to the series launch of J.A. Marx's Destiny series. Book one, Destiny Defied, is a chilling tale of freedom from oppression and the Light that overcomes the dark.

J.A. is celebrating the launch of her series with a Kindle giveaway and a Facebook author chat party on December 2. 

  One grand prize winner will receive:
  • A Kindle Fire
  • Destiny Defied by J.A. Marx.
Enter today by clicking the icon below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on 12/2. Winner will be announced at the Destiny Defied Facebook author chat party on December 2nd. RSVP for a chance to connect with J.A. Marx, to chat about the book, as well as to win some great prizes!

RSVP today and spread the word—tell your friends about the giveaway via FACEBOOK, TWITTER or PINTEREST and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 2nd!

1 comment:

The Egyptian Princess: A Story of Hagar By KD Homberg

I received this audiobook for no charge from the author and Celebrate Lit Blogger Program in exchange for my honest review of this audiobook...