Sunday, March 16, 2014

Take a Chance on Me: Christiansen Family Series Book 1 By Susan May Warren

I received this book from the author, Susan May Warren, as part of her Launch Team for no charge in exchange for my honest review of this book. The opinions expressed here are my own.

Book Description:   

Darek Christiansen is almost a dream bachelor—oldest son in the large Christiansen clan, heir to their historic Evergreen Lake Resort, and doting father. But he’s also wounded and angry since the tragic death of his wife, Felicity. No woman in Deep Haven dares come near.

New assistant county attorney Ivy Madison simply doesn’t know any better when she bids on Darek at the charity auction. Nor does she know that when she crafted a plea bargain three years ago to keep Jensen Atwood out of jail and in Deep Haven fulfilling community service, she was releasing the man responsible for Felicity’s death. All Ivy knows is that the Christiansens feel like the family she’s always longed for. And once she gets past Darek’s tough exterior, she finds a man she could spend the rest of her life with. Which scares her almost as much as Darek learning of her involvement in his wife’s case.

Caught between new love and old grudges, Darek must decide if he can set aside the past for a future with Ivy—a future more and more at risk as an approaching wildfire threatens to wipe out the Christiansen resort and Deep Haven itself.

My Thoughts:  

Take a Chance On Me is the first book in Susan May Warren's latest series, The Christiansen Family and I fell in love!  Darek Christiansen has a little boy, Tiger, who is raising on his own since his wife's accident and death three years prior.  Darek's ex best friend, Jensen Atwood, was involved in the accident so Darek blames Jensen for everything having to do with Felicity's death. Darek is the oldest of the Christiansen children and he helps run their historic Evergreen Lake Resort which he will eventually inherit and run himself.  Darek has to stand in on the charity auction for his younger brother Owen, the hockey player. Ivy Madison, the new county attorney, decides that Darek is the one for her to bid on and she won.   Ivy likes Darek, his temper takes her aback but she really likes everything else especially his family. Tiger is taken with Ivy and she with him.  As Ivy learns the details of Felicity's accident and Jensen Atwoods part she begins to have flashbacks, she realizes that she drafted the plea bargain three years prior.  Ivy must tell him but doesn't know how. Darek is gearing up for a potential custody battle with Felicity's family.  As Darek learns the truth he has to come to terms with the situation and make the best decisions he can for himself and Tiger.

Take a Chance on Me is the first book in the Christiansen Family Series and its fantastic. It takes place in my favorite place,  Deep Haven, MN.  I love having the opportunities to continue to visit Deep Haven in Susan May Warren's books, have to check up on my old friends from other books. I love finding out how they are doing, how their lives are growing. I love the Christiansen family. They are just a regular family who are there for one another and their faith keeps them strong. Their lives are not perfect but they find their way through problems with each other and God.  Susan May Warren writes with authority on Minnesota, wild fires, resorts, and the law.  I found myself completely submersed in this book, could not put it down and when I was done it really stayed with me. It took me a few days to be able to process all of it. I loved all the characters in this book. They are fantastic.In the beginning of the book there is a letter that Ingrid(Mom) writes to Darek about his life and her hopes for him. Helps to really set the tone for the book.  I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Christian Fiction, you WILL not be disappointed. I cannot wait to read the rest of the books in this series! I give this book 5STARS.

No comments:

Post a Comment

The Egyptian Princess: A Story of Hagar By KD Homberg

I received this audiobook for no charge from the author and Celebrate Lit Blogger Program in exchange for my honest review of this audiobook...